THE NGO NETWORK ALLIANCE PROJECT - an online community for Zimbabwean activists  
 View archive by sector


Back to Index

Media Alliance of Zimbabwe opposes the move to form statutory media council
Media Alliance of Zimbabwe
May 17, 2011

Download this document
- Acrobat PDF version (770KB
If you do not have the free Acrobat reader on your computer, download it from the Adobe website by clicking here.

MAZ Letter to Zimbabwe Media Commission

Dear Sir

We, the members of the Media Alliance of Zimbabwe acknowledge your invitation to discuss the formation of a media council.

We recognize that the formation of this council is a legal requirement according to the terms of the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

However, we are members of the Voluntary Media Council of Zimbabwe whose mandate specifically is to promote a professional and free media environment through voluntary self-regulation of the media.

The statutory nature of the council envisaged under AIPPA completely undermines this position. In addition, the council will be obliged to operate under the excessively restrictive and punitive provisions of the law in the course of its duties of regulating media activity

As a result, the Members of the Media Alliance of Zimbabwe cannot, in any way, support the operation of this council in its present form and calls on the Commission to campaign for the repeal of AIPPA in its entirety as envisaged in the resolutions of the government's own media stakeholders' conference held in Kariba in May 2009.

It is with regret, therefore that the undersigned members of MAZ will be unable to accept your invitation.


Media Institute of Southern Africa (Zimbabwe)
Media Monitoring Project Zimbabwe
Zimbabwe National Editors, Forum
Zimbabwe Union of Journalists
Federation of African Media Women Zimbabwe
African Community Publishing Development Trust

Download full document

Visit the Media Alliance of Zimbabwe fact sheet

Please credit if you make use of material from this website. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License unless stated otherwise.