THE NGO NETWORK ALLIANCE PROJECT - an online community for Zimbabwean activists  
 View archive by sector


Back to Index

This article participates on the following special index pages:

  • New Constitution-making process - Index of articles

  • Report of the Constitution Parliamentary Select Committee (COPAC) presented to Parliament
    Constitution Parliamentary Select Committee (COPAC)
    February 07, 2013

    Download this document
    - MS Word  version (1.70MB)
    - Acrobat PDF version (696
    If you do not have the free Acrobat reader on your computer, download it from the Adobe website by clicking here.

    1. Introduction

    Mr. Speaker Sir, on the 12th of April 2009, the Select Committee on the new Constitution for Zimbabwe was set up to spearhead the writing of a new Constitution for Zimbabwe. The setting up of this committee was in fulfilment of Article VI of the Global Political Agreement (GPA) signed by the three parties in Parliament on the 15th of September 2008. The Committee was made up of the following Honourable members:

    1. Hon. Munyaradzi Paul Mangwana (Co-chair)
    2. Hon. Douglas Togarasei Mwonzora (Co-chair)
    3. Hon. Edward Thsothso Mkhosi (Co-chair)
    4. Hon. Monica Mutsvangwa (Deputy Co-chair)
    5. Hon. Fungai Jessie Majome (Deputy Co-chair)
    6. Hon. Believe Gaule (Deputy Co-chair)
    7. Hon. Flora Buka
    8. Hon. Chief Fortune Zephaniah. Charumbira
    9. Hon. Amos Chibaya
    10. Hon. Walter Kufakunesu Chidakwa
    11. Hon. Gift Chimanikire
    12. Hon. David Coltart
    13. Hon. Edward Takaruza Chindori-Chininga
    14. Hon. Dr. Jorum Macdonald Gumbo
    15. Hon. Ian James Hamilton Kay
    16. Hon. Martin Khumalo
    17. Hon. Cephas Makuyana
    18. Hon. Editor Erimanziah Matamisa
    19. Hon. Tokhozile Mathuthtu
    20. Hon. Tambudzani Budagi Mohadi
    21. Hon. Dr. Olivia Nyembezi Muchena
    22. Hon. Rorana Muchihwa
    23. Hon. Brian Tshuma
    24. Hon. Gladys Gombami-Dube
    25. Hon. Jabulani B. Ndhlovu

    Mr. Speaker Sir, because of his busy schedule as Minister of Education, Sports and Culture, Hon. David Coltart was replaced by Hon. Edward Mkhosi as Co-chair of the Select Committee. In the course of this exercise, Hon. Edward Chindori-Chininga was recalled by his party and was replaced by Hon. Lazarus Dangwa Kambarami Dokora.
    Your Committee also wishes to report that we lost Hon. Jabulani. B. Ndhlovu in December 2010 following a tragic accident, and was replaced by Hon. Innocent Gonese. We also lost Hon. Gladys Gombami-Dube in December 2011 in a sudden death that shocked the Committee. May their souls rest in eternal peace. Hon J. B. Ndhlovu was not replaced, and the Committee concluded the process with one member less.

    In order to effectively undertake its mandate, and cognisant of the many roles the Parliament staff was engaged in, the Select Committee established its own secretariat in December 2009, which was to fully concentrate on the task at hand as strict timelines had been set up in Article VI of the GPA. This was to give the Committee unfettered attention in order to comply with the deadlines provided. Regrettably, the process took longer than anticipated for reasons to be outlined later in this report.

    The secretariat which supported the Select Committee comprised of the following officers:

    1. Mr. Gift Marunda – Acting National Coordinator
    2. Ms. Taurwi Mabeza
    3. Mr. Alex Masumba
    4. Mr. Irimayi Mukwishu
    5. Mrs. Spiwe Mutonga
    6. Ms. Gloria Ganyani
    7. Mr. Canlington Mbiri
    8. Mr. Earnest Nyamukachi
    9. Ms. Angeline Hobwana
    10. Mr. Gifford Mehluli Sibanda
    11. Mr. Elias Mapendere
    12. Mrs. Priscilla Marecha
    13. Mrs. Victoria Mahlangu
    14. Mrs. Sarudzai Makombe
    15. Ms. Vivian Dube
    16. Ms. Mariah Nyahuye
    17. Ms. Beatha Njanji
    18. Ms. Ivy Madamombe
    19. Mr. Farai Simon Peter Madziwa
    20. Mr. Tinashe Mudzengi
    21. Mr. Jani Musanjeya
    22. Mr. Francis Phiri
    23. Mr. Owen Ruwodo
    24. Ms. Chiramwiwa Gavi

    The Select Committee parted ways with Mr. Peter Kunjeku in October 2010 as National Coordinator and head of the secretariat after his contract was not renewed. Mr. Gift. Marunda then took over as Acting National Coordinator.

    During the course of the process we lost the following members of staff; Mr. Clifford Mupande, Mrs. Vimbai Chiutsi and Ms. Grace Fundira-Buhera. May their souls rest in eternal peace.

    The Select Committee was also supported by technical team members carefully selected at each stage of the process. A schedule of these team members is attached to this report.

    Download the full document

    Please credit if you make use of material from this website. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License unless stated otherwise.