THE NGO NETWORK ALLIANCE PROJECT - an online community for Zimbabwean activists  
 View archive by sector


Back to Index

Updated list of Ministers and Deputy Ministers - Bill Watch 37/2010
September 23, 2010

There have so many requests for an updated list of Ministers and Deputy Ministers that we are sending it out as a Bill Watch. The following list reflects the current position. It takes account of:

  • the reshuffle of MDC-T Ministers and Deputy Ministers announced by the Prime Minister on 23rd June
  • the elevation of former Minister of State John Nkomo to Vice-President
  • the late Gibson Sibanda’s ceasing to be a Minister because he did not hold a Parliamentary seat.

Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Ministers
Prime Minister: Morgan Tsvangirai [MDC-T]
Deputy Prime Minister: Arthur Mutambara [MDC-M]
Deputy Prime Minister: Thokozani Khupe [MDC-T]


Ministry Minister Party Deputy Minister Party
Agriculture, Mechanisation and Irrigation Development Joseph Made ZANU-PF Roy Bennett [not yet sworn in] MDC-T
Constitutional and Parliamentary Affairs Eric Matinenga MDC-T None  
Defence Emmerson Mnangagwa ZANU-PF None  
Economic Planning and Investment Promotion Tapiwa Mashakada MDC-T Samuel Undenge ZANU-PF
Education, Sport, Arts and Culture David Coltart MDC-M Lazarus Dokora ZANU-PF
Energy and Power Development Elton Mangoma MDC-T Hubert Nyanhongo ZANU-PF
Environment and Natural Resources Management Francis Nhema ZANU-PF None  
Finance Tendai Biti MDC-T None  
Foreign Affairs Simbarashe
ZANU-PF Moses Mzila Ndlovu MDC-M
Health and Child Welfare Henry Madzorera MDC-T Douglas Mombeshora ZANU-PF
Higher and Tertiary Education Stan Mudenge ZANU-PF Lutho Addington Tapela MDC-M
Home Affairs
[Shared Ministry]
Kembo Mohadi
Theresa Makoni
Housing and Social Amenities Giles Mutsekwa MDC-T None  
Industry and Commerce Welshman Ncube MDC-M Mike Bimha ZANU-PF
Information Communication Technology Nelson Chamisa MDC-T None  
Justice and Legal Affairs Patrick Chinamasa ZANU-PF Obert Gutu MDC-T
Labour and Social Welfare Paurina Gwanyanya MDC-T Tracy Mutinhiri ZANU-PF
Lands and Rural Resettlement Herbert Murerwa ZANU-PF None  
Local Government, Urban and Rural Development Ignatius Chombo ZANU-PF Cecil Zvidzai MDC-T
Media, Information and Publicity Webster Shamu ZANU-PF Murisi Zvizvai MDC-T
Mines and Mining Development Obert Mpofu ZANU-PF Gift Chimanikire MDC-T
Public Service Eliphas Mukonoweshuro MDC-T Andrew Langa ZANU-PF
Public Works Joel Gabuza MDC-T Aguy Georgias ZANU-PF
Science and Technology Heneri Dzinotyiwei MDC-T None  
Small and Medium Enterprises and Co-operative Development Sithembiso Nyoni ZANU-PF None  
State Enterprises and Parastatals Gorden Moyo MDC-T Walter Chidhakwa ZANU-PF
Tourism and Hospitality Industry Walter Mzembi ZANU-PF None  
Transport and Infrastructural Development Nicholas Goche ZANU-PF Tichaona Mudzingwa MDC-T
Water Resources and Development Samuel Sipepa Nkomo MDC-T None  
Women's Affairs, Gender and Community Development Olivia Muchena ZANU-PF Jesse Majome MDC-T
Youth Development, Indigenisation and Empowerment Saviour Kasukuwere ZANU-PF Tongai Matutu MDC-T

Ministers of State who are Cabinet Members

Minister of State for National Security in the President’s Office Sydney Sekeramayi ZANU-PF
Minister of State for Presidential Affairs Didymus Mutasa ZANU-PF
Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office Jameson Timba MDC-T

Ministers of State who are NOT Cabinet Members

Minister of State in Vice-President Nkomo's Office Flora Bhuka ZANU-PF
Minister of State in Vice-President Mujuru's Office Sylvester Nguni ZANU-PF
Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office “Healing Organ” Sekai Holland MDC-T

Note: there is a pending case in the High Court questioning the legality of the appointment of Ministers who were sworn in after the quota of Ministers stated in the Constitution, as modified by Constitution Amendment 19, had been filled. The Ministers in question are Savior Kasukuwere, Joseph Made, Walter Mzembi, Flora Bhuka, Sylvester Nguni [ZANU-PF], Henry Madzorera, Giles Mutsekwa and Sekai Holland [MDC-T]. [Note: John Nkomo was also sworn in late but is no longer a Minister.] [See Bill Watch 36 for more details]

Veritas makes every effort to ensure reliable information, but cannot take legal responsibility for information supplied.

Please credit if you make use of material from this website. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License unless stated otherwise.