THE NGO NETWORK ALLIANCE PROJECT - an online community for Zimbabwean activists  
 View archive by sector


Back to Index

Borders rectified for Kwekwe and Silobela constituencies
The Herald (Zimbabwe)
March 23, 2005

PRESIDENT Mugabe has proclaimed the correct boundaries of Kwekwe and Silobela constituencies in the Midlands Province following an error in the description of the two constituencies as published in Statutory Instrument 3A of 2005.

In a proclamation published in a Government Gazette yesterday, Kwekwe has a total of 53 462 registered voters made up of wards 1 to 14 of Kwekwe Municipality and part of ward 3 (blocks 020558, 090558) of Kwekwe Rural District.

It is the same as the one delimited in 2000. Silobela has a total of 47 487 registered voters, the same as the one delimited in 2000. It is made up of wards 1 to 9 of Redcliff Municipality and the following wards Kwekwe Rural District Council 4, 18 to 25, 27, 28 and part of ward 3 (blocks 030558, 120658 and 130658).

President Mugabe in January proclaimed the names and boundaries of the elective 120 constituencies as finally settled by the Delimitation Commission to be the constituencies of Zimbabwe for the March 31 general elections and any subsequent election.

In the demarcation, Harare, Bulawayo and Matabeleland South provinces lost a constituency each, while Manicaland, Mashonaland East and West provinces gained one constituency apiece.

Please credit if you make use of material from this website. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License unless stated otherwise.