THE NGO NETWORK ALLIANCE PROJECT - an online community for Zimbabwean activists  
 View archive by sector


Back to Index

This article participates on the following special index pages:

  • Senate Elections Results & Index of articles

  • President appoints ministers, Senators
    The Herald (Zimbabwe)
    November 30, 2005

    PRESIDENT Mugabe has appointed two ministers and six Senators.

    Cde Sithembiso Nyoni was re-appointed Minister of Small and Medium Scale Enterprises Development following her appointment as non-constituency Member of Parliament.

    She replaces Deputy Speaker of Parliament Cde Edna Madzongwe as non-constituency MP.

    Cde Madzongwe is tipped to land the post of President of the Senate in polls to be held today when the new Senators will be sworn in.

    Former Minister of Industry and International Trade Cde Samuel Mumbengegwi has been appointed Minister of State for Indigenisation and Empowerment, replacing the late national hero Retired Air Chief Marshal Josiah Tungamirai, who died in August.

    Cde Mumbengegwi is the Senator-elect for Chivi-Mwenezi following his victory in the weekend elections.

    Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda said in a statement yesterday that the two ministers would be sworn in at State House today.

    The six non-constituency Senators are Mr Kantibhai Patel, Mrs Sheila Chipo Mahere, Mr Peter Haritatos, Mr Aguy Clement Georgias, Mr Tazvitya Jonathan Mapfumo and Cde Joshua Teke Malinga.

    Secretary for Information and Publicity Mr George Charamba said the new Senators were appointed in accordance with the Constitution of Zimbabwe as read with Amendment (No. 17).

    A long time member of the ruling Zanu-PF and businessman, Cde Patel once served as a Senator in the 1980s.

    He also served as non-constituency Member of Parliament in the 1990s.

    Presently, he is the Zanu-PF national deputy finance secretary.

    Mrs Mahere is currently the director of Musasa Project, a non-governmental organisation while Mr Georgias is a renowned industrialist and owner of Trinity Engineering.

    Cde Malinga is a losing Zanu-PF candidate for Makokoba-Bulawayo constituency and former Bulawayo mayor.

    Mr Mapfumo is a prominent Harare lawyer while Mr Haritatos is a well-known Kadoma, businessman, farmer and miner.

    The six — together with their counterparts who were elected in the just-ended Senate elections — will be sworn in today.

    Please credit if you make use of material from this website. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License unless stated otherwise.