THE NGO NETWORK ALLIANCE PROJECT - an online community for Zimbabwean activists  
 View archive by sector


Back to Index

This article participates on the following special index pages:

  • Zimbabwe's Elections 2013 - Index of Articles

  • Communiqué of the 33rd Summit of SADC Heads of State and Government Lilongwe, Malawi
    August 18, 2013

    Download this document
    - Acrobat PDF version (119KB)
    If you do not have the free Acrobat reader on your computer, download it from the Adobe website by clicking here

    Lilongwe Malawi

    1. The 33rd Summit of the Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) was held in Lilongwe, Republic of Malawi on 17th and 18th August 2013.

    2. The Summit elected H.E. President Joyce Banda of the Republic of Malawi and H.E Robert Gabriel Mugabe, President of the Republic of Zimbabwe as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of SADC, respectively.

    3. Summit also elected H.E. President Hifikepunye Pohamba of the Republic of Namibia and Right Honourable Thomas Motsoahae Thabane, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Lesotho as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, respectively.

    4. The Summit was attended by the following Heads of State and Government and or their representatives:

    • Angola: Rt. Honourable Manuel Vicente, Vice President
    • Botswana: H.E. President Lt. Gen. Seretse Khama Ian Khama
    • DRC: H.E. President Joseph Kabila Kabange
    • Lesotho: Rt. Hon. Thomas Motsoahae Thabane (Prime Minister)
    • Malawi: H.E. President Joyce Banda
    • Mauritius: The Rt. Honourable Dr Navinchandra Ramgoolam (Prime Minister)
    • Mozambique: H.E. President Armando Emilio Guebuza
    • Namibia: Honourable Marco Hausiku, (Deputy Prime Minister)
    • South Africa: H.E. President Jacob Gedleyihlekisa Zuma
    • Seychelles: Rt. Honourable Danny Faure (Vice President)
    • Swaziland: Rt. Honourable Dr. Sibusiso Barnabas Dlamini, (Prime Minister)
    • United Republic of Tanzania: H.E. President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete
    • Zambia: His Honour Dr. Guy Scott, (Vice President)
    • Zimbabwe: H.E. President Robert Gabriel Mugabe

    5. Summit was also attended by H.E. Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Chairperson of the African Union Commission, (AUC) and H.E. Dr. Tomaz Augusto Salomão, SADC Executive Secretary. In attendance were also H.E. Mr. Sindiso Ndema Ngwenya, Secretary General of the Common Market for East and Southern Africa (COMESA); H.E. Amb. Dr. Richard Sezibera, Secretary General of the East African Community (EAC); and Dr. Esau M. Chiviya, Secretary General of the SADC Parliamentary Forum.

    6. H.E. President Joyce Banda, SADC Chairperson and host of the 33rd Summit welcomed the SADC Heads of State and Government and other delegates to the Republic of Malawi. President Banda paid tribute to the outgoing Chairperson of SADC, H.E. President Armando Emilio Guebuza of Mozambique for having provided leadership to the Region. She indicated that her chairpersonship shall focus on poverty reduction and sustainable food production, among other things.

    7. The Outgoing SADC Chairperson, H.E. President Armando Emilio Guebuza of Mozambique, commended SADC Heads of State and Government, the entire Region, and International Cooperating Partners (ICPs) for the support rendered to him during his tenure as Chairperson. President Guebuza pledged to support President Banda and appealed to all Member States to accord Malawi their usual support as she assumes the responsibility of spearheading the SADC regional integration agenda.

    8. In her acceptance statement, the new SADC Chairperson and host of the 33rd Ordinary SADC Summit, H.E. President Banda indicated that Malawi accepts the chairpersonship of SADC with humility, national pride and a sense of responsibility and shall continue to count on all SADC Member States for assistance to accelerate the implementation and realization of the SADC regional integration agenda.

    9. Summit was also addressed by H.E. Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, the AUC Chairperson who commended SADC Member States for the progress made in regional integration. She undertook to ensure that the AUC continues to render support to SADC Member States in order to realize peace and stability, economic and socio-political development in the region leading to the improvement of the quality of lives of the people of the Region.

    Download full document

    Please credit if you make use of material from this website. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License unless stated otherwise.