THE NGO NETWORK ALLIANCE PROJECT - an online community for Zimbabwean activists  
 View archive by sector


Back to Index, Back to Special Index

This article participates on the following special index pages:

  • Inclusive government - Index of articles

  • Report of the delegation of the Development Committee of the European Parliament to Zimbabwe (29 April - 3 May 2013)
    Norbert Neuser, European Parliament
    July 03, 2013

    Download this document
    - Acrobat PDF version (206813KB)
    If you do not have the free Acrobat reader on your computer, download it from the Adobe website by clicking here

    Following a decision by DEVE Coordinators on 10 October 2012 and subsequent authorisation by the Bureau of the European Parliament on 4 February 2013, a delegation of the Committee on Development visited Zimbabwe from 29 April to 3 May 2013.

    The terms of reference for this visit were as follows:

    "The visit is a part of the overall re-engagement process. The progress made towards the implementation of the Global Political Agreement has allowed the EU to work directly with the Government of National Unity to develop new assistance programmes. The purpose of the visit is to get a better overview and update of the government priorities, needs of the population and existing aid programmes in view of the programming and preparation of the Country Strategy Paper for EU cooperation with Zimbabwe in the framework of the 11th European Development Fund (2014-2020). Special interest lies in food security and agriculture, health and the energy sector."

    The Members of the delegation were:

    • Mr Norbert Neuser (Head of Delegation, S&D)
    • Mr Filip Kaczmarek (EPP)
    • Ms Judith Sargentini (Greens / EFA)

    The delegation was accompanied by Ms Kadri Paris and Ms Pascale Canart of the DEVE Secretariat.

    Details of the programme of visit s are given in the annex. The work of the delegation also included a field trip to the St Albert's Mission Hospital and to the Mazowe agricultural project, which both receive EU funding.

    The delegation would like to express its gratitude to Ambassador Aldo Dell’Ariccia, Head of the EU Delegation in Harare and his staff, in particular Carl Skau, Emilio Rossetti, Jorge Pereiro Pinon, Liesl Inglis, Paolo Barduagni, Chipo Ciwara and EEAS Zimbabwe desk officer Marilyn Josefson. They were instrumental in the organisation of the programme, in giving logistical support and in providing exceptional advice to the delegation in preparation and during its work in Harare.

    Download full document

    Please credit if you make use of material from this website. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License unless stated otherwise.